Rooster Teeth announced today that Monty Oum, creator of RWBY and the most nerd-chic person I’ve ever seen, has passed away.

I can’t say that the death of celebrities has ever strongly impacted me, but I’m heartbroken. Maybe it’s because Monty wasn’t a celebrity – he was beloved to the Rooster Teeth fan base, but likely rarely asked for a picture outside of a convention. Maybe it’s because he was only 33 and so clearly thrilled and amazed to be bringing the story he’d been thinking about for so long to life with Rooster Teeth. He seems like a real person.

Part of the reason my husband and I went to RTX for our honeymoon was because of how much we loved RWBY. We waited in line longer than I want to admit to go to the RWBY panel to see Monty and the premiere episode of season two. When we went through our pictures later and realized I had inadvertently caught Monty in what I thought was a boring pictures of props, we were thrilled.

RWBY Monty

In the post by Matt, the CEO at Rooster Teeth, he asked the following:

As for honoring Monty, we will do that in our own way. In lieu of flowers or gifts, we ask that you simply do something creative. Use your imagination to make the world a better place in any way that you can. If you know Monty like we do, then you know he would certainly be doing that if he were able to.

What a beautiful thing to ask. I thought on this for awhile and kept wondering why I’d never thought of this when I’d experienced personal loss. My normal reaction would be to write something, but I felt like this was an opportunity to do something different. I went to the store thinking about making jewelry, a hobby my mom has been enjoying for years. When I got to the store, though, I didn’t see anything that struck me. After wandering the aisles I came across a box that was advertised as a “card box.” I have a ton of handwritten cards and letters that I’ve stored in various places around the house and I’ve been thinking about making a personalize box to store them. I grabbed it as well as a few other things I thought were pretty, then went home and assembled random items I liked from past Loot Crates and the box of “stuff” in my office.

IMG_1981 (1)

I’ll still write something, but I’m also going to make something physical. It’s not anything that benefits anyone but me for the moment. I wish I had the talent and thought to come up with that sort of thing right now, and maybe it’ll come. Maybe it’ll be what I write.

I thank Rooster Teeth for this idea. I hope it’s something I can remember the next time I experience sadness in my life. I’m going to start my project tonight while I watch Rooster Teeth videos. Then I’m going to keep trying to think of ways to make the world a better place.

Rest in Peace Monty. Thank you for RWBY and other project to which you contributed. Thanks for being so freaking cool.

