I went to a college football game today. Overall, it was a good experience. Siri’s description of it is that my team “crushed” the visitors (which they should have, based on rank and all of that other stuff). It was free. I got to go with my siblings, husband, and a brother-in-law. Heck, I even got hot chocolate. Our seats, however, had one drawback: They appeared to be in some kind of makeshift backup student section.

It wasn’t that long ago that I was a student, but being in that crowd made me realize that it was probably a good thing that I didn’t get tickets in college. The rowdiness, shirtlessness, and rudeness weren’t really my thing. I learned that college students are capable of squeezing 15 people into the space of 9 seats. As a result, I couldn’t see for the first quarter. The two rows ahead of us had three rows worth of people, and they were standing on their seats. Not in the plentiful space in front of their seats like normal humans, but on them.

During that time, I had to keep myself occupied, so I found myself doing a lot of people-watching. As I sat an contemplated whether or not I wanted to be the bad guy and complain (or wait for someone else to do it for me), I found myself counting selfies.

I swear it’s almost as good as counting sheep. During that first quarter the girl in front of me took 14 selfies. I’m in at least 2, which is a shame.

I guess I belong to the selfie generation, but they don’t quite click for me. Okay, I get that you want a picture of yourself at an event or with a person, but do you really need 14? I stopped counting after that, but since it was only the first quarter, surely the number grew. I imagine the girl’s Twitter feed looked something like this:

pinkhatcollegegirl at the game

pinkhatcollege girl touchdown selfie

pinkhatcollege girl girl behind me angry

pinkhatcollege girl girl behind me sad

For anyone who’s curious, I didn’t report them. I strongly considered asking someone to take a look at the number of people crammed in front of me, or at the very least ask them to stop standing on their seats so the rest of the section could sit (we were in the upper level, and the only section where people were standing. It was like reverse dominoes). Someone else thankfully took on that task.The kids ahead of us still ended up having a good time, even if their friends were forced to go sit in the correct sections (a pair of them had significantly better seats, so I guess it says something about their friendship that they were willing to stand in a crowd much further from the field just to be with them). We got to see the game. The elderly man next to me was able to sit during the bulk of the game, and reserve his standing for big moments rather than every moment.

But boy, did I learn the value of a selfie today.

