While I was writing last night’s post about children’s films and TV shows, I heard my husband giggling from across the room. I paused to check on him, and he told me he was reading a rumored plot line for Star Wars: Episide 7 on IGN.

7 cast
Released photo of the episode 7 cast (before, thankfully, some more ladies were added). http://www.starwars.com/news/star-wars-episode-vii-cast-announced

If you don’t want to click the link, here’s the summary from IGN:

“Imagine the standard Star Wars crawl, and when it ends the camera pans up to the stars. But instead of a spaceship zooming into frame we see… a hand! A severed hand, tumbling through space. A severed hand gripping a light saber.
That hand falls onto a desert planet, where it is discovered by characters who will be our heroes. One is Daisy Ridley. The other is John Boyega, who is playing someone trying to change his path in life (again, I’m keeping it vague here). They recognize the light saber as a Jedi relic and decide to return it to the proper people.”

Faraci then goes on to describe the hero’s journey proper.

“Their quest takes them off world, and they meet up with Han Solo and Chewbacca, who aren’t flying around in the Millenium Falcon anymore but are piloting… well, that could be a spoiler. I’ll leave it. Anyway, Han and Chewie recognize the light saber as Luke’s, and they say they haven’t seen their friend in thirty years, since the events of Return of the Jedi.

So begins a quest to find the missing Jedi Master. Meanwhile, on an ice planet, nefarious forces are building a super weapon, one capable of destroying not planets but entire solar systems…”

Here’s the conversation that followed:

Me: “But Luke should be rebuilding the Jedi Order!”

Husband: “That’s probably what he’s doing.”

Me: “But LEIA.”

Husband: “What about her?”

Me: “I need her to be married to Han. And be a Jedi trained by her brother.”

Husband: “So you want everything to be perfect and for there to be no conflict?”

Oh. Oops. I think I realized how difficult the new movies may be for me. I never read any of the books, so thankfully, I don’t have those ideas of how the story is supposed to progress in my mind. For years, I’ve insisted that I only wanted episodes 7, 8 and 9 to be made if they were based on Lucas’ ideas, but someone else made them. Well, that’s happening. I really hope this doesn’t turn out to be one of those situations where I’m told to be careful what I wish for.

On another note, I promise to stop writing about movies every day. My first Loot Crate box comes this week, so be prepared for me to be overly excited about a box full of geek.

